Before and After

You might find a “before and after” shot on a weight-loss website, touting the benefits of a new diet plan or an exercise regimen.

This is not that kind of before and after.

I’ve had a bit of a rough day, which I won’t get into. However, it got me thinking about how I need to press pause and reflect upon the improvements that have surfaced in my life as a result of my recovery. Recovery is not supposed to be easy, and while I consider myself out of that “recovery phase” and well into a “recovered life” where my eating disorder really no long factors into my day-to-day, I still need to check myself if I find that I’m getting down in the dumps about x or y.

In the vein of self-acceptance, a theme I am hopeful will resurface throughout the new year (and beyond), a before and after (version recovery.0)

Before, I rarely socialized- I spent my days alone, with my thoughts (which were definitely not my friends)

After, I enjoy spending time with my friends. Whether it’s a movie, a walk in the woods, a coffee or a party, I do my best to balance pushing myself out of my comfort zone with being fully in my happy-place with people who love me as I am.

Before, I used to spend hours in the gym, pounding the treadmill in pain. I scheduled my life around my incessant workouts, I never went to a single class without my hair congealed to my head with sweat.

After, I include activity into my day in a healthy way. I stroll around campus or with my little dog, I dance as if no one is watching, and I embrace my inner yogini.

Before, my eyes were empty shadows, usually shrouded by sunglasses even on a cloudy day.

After, I’m proud of my baby-greens as they sparkle and gleam with emotions I used to ignore.

Before, I was an emotional basket-case in some ways and a stony-faced robot in others. I didn’t want to feel, so I would stuff it all inside and it would all come bursting out at once in a panic attack- an anxiety explosion, if you will.

After, I feel happy, I feel sad, I feel angry- in turns. In short, I feel.

Before, food scared the bejeezus out of me. Little by little, I lost my taste for things- or felt guilty about not loosing my taste for them. It was lose-lose.

After, I try new things. I delight in the mantra “everything in moderation”. Truly- I pride myself in really trying to listen to what my body wants and needs, no matter what society tells me is “good” or “bad”.

Before, my mom and I were close, but instead of being interdependent, we were completely enmeshed.

After, my mom and I are two grown women, who are very close. We need each other but more importantly, we like to be around each other.

Before, I was caged.

After, I am free.

Recovery is hard. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Sometimes it’s still hard. But it is always, (ALWAYS.) worth it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

