Scrabble.

Board games aren’t just for cottages anymore. I’m officially outing myself as a Scrabble nerd. By no means am I amazing at the game- in fact I don’t meet the game’s definition of a “good player”- that would be someone who achieves a score of 300 or higher. Rarely (to never) do I reach such scoring heights- usually I hover somewhere between 240 and 280. However, I do love words, and board games, and the two come together in a cornucopia of goodness in the form of Scrabble. There’s nothing quite like a game of Scrabble to begin a triade of laughs about the words on the board- there’s always a funny one thrown somewhere in the midst of the classics. The single most useful word I’ve learned in my Scrabble-playing “career” is Qi- an excellent way to get rid of that dratted Q.

I don’t take my Scrabble too seriously, but I really do enjoy a good game after dinner on a hot summer’s evening. Whether I’m playing with my mom or with friends, there’s something about those well-worn tiles that just exudes fun. While I might never be the life of the party with my Scrabble-tastic tendencies, I’ll at least be having fun! Recently my mom and I attempted to replace our Scrabble game with a different form of board game and it just couldn’t rival the simple enjoyment of being able to spell out “Goatee” on those little square boxes. No, in my mind Scrabble is unrivaled in it’s awesomeness.

It would seem that I’ve completely dived in to the world of the word nerds. The best part about it, though, is that I’m not afraid of admitting that yes, sometimes I’ll play Scrabble on a Friday night. Unlike the way I’ve spent much of my late adolescence and early adulthood, I’m willing to be myself, word-nerd included. I no longer feel the need to squash the less-sauve aspects of my personality to please others and to “fit in”. Maybe it’s because I’m not just one aspect of my personality. I am a multi-faceted human being, who plays Scrabble, watches “The Bachelorette”, reads historical fiction and pretty much anything else I can get my hands on, loves walking in the sunshine, does yoga, has long talks with best friends, and has a passion for the written word. I am all of these things and so much more, and that’s nothing to be ashamed of.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

