If enjoying cheesy pop culture is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

Yes, its true. I love a good sickly sweet hollywood ending. I tap my toes to the beat of top 40 tunes. I tear through chick-lit like its going out of style (though whether or not its “in style” to begin with might spark some debate among hipsters everywhere). Most of all, I am first in line at the Cineplex to catch the latest gonna-make-it-big dance flick. Which is precisely where I found myself yesterday at 3:35 pm, ready to spend 2 blissed out hours of pure, unadulterated fun watching “Fame”, the remake.

I’ve always been partial to the dance movie, maybe because I spent 14 years sweating out my emotions in ballet and modern dance classes. Fame strikes a particular chord with me as well, since I was a member of the chorus in a community-theatre production of the Broadway musical version. Whatever the reason, I’m not afraid to admit that I own far too many incarnations of the classic dance movie, including Centre Stage, Step Up one and two, Dirty Dancing and its cuban-fusion sequel. Others may scoff at my worship of films that feature sub-par acting and very little in the way of a plausible story line, but I unabashedly defend my feel-good favorites.

Ultimately, the feel-good nature of these movies is what draws me to them. Having a bad day? Pop in Centre Stage and get lost in the struggles of ballerinas trying to make it big. Broke up with your boyfriend? Settle down with Dirty Dancing: Havana Nights and cry a little. If you’re feeling skeptical about the heartbreak of star-crossed lovers, then at least shed a tear over some stilted dialogue. But there is little doubt in my mind that secretly you can forgive a little bad acting and give in to awe over the hypnotic latin ballroom moves.

I for one am willing to admit to my vice of enjoying the odd (ok, the frequent) viewing of a cheesy dance movie. I suspect that I am not alone in my enjoyment of all things uplifting, whether its pop music (Party In The USA, anyone?), airy-fairy literature (calling all Shopaholics!) or easy-to-digest cinema.

So was Fame a piece of genius cinematography? Maybe not. Was the acting Oscar-worthy? Again, maybe not. Did I love every second? You bet.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If enjoying cheesy pop culture is wrong, I don’t want to be right.

  1. Jennifer Cantlon says:

    Feeling good requires attention. Toe tapping included!
    View, listen and enjoy to your heart’s content.

Leave a Reply

